Did McGrath win in Kentucky?


Soldier Fighter pilot

Additionally, can the Republicans win the Senate in 2020? Including the special elections in Arizona and Georgia, Republicans will be defending 23 seats in 2020, while the Democratic Party will be defending 12 seats. Democrats will need to pick up three or four seats to gain a majority in the Senate, depending on which party wins control of the vice presidency.

Similarly one may ask, is Amy McGrath Democrat or Republican?

Democratic Party

Who did Mitch McConnell run against?

Incumbent Republican Senator Mitch McConnell, the Senate Minority Leader, ran for re-election to a sixth term. He faced Democratic nominee and Kentucky Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes and Libertarian nominee David Patterson in the general election.

Who is running for Senate in Kentucky?

Results Party Candidate Republican Paul John Frangedakis Republican Louis Grider Republican Mitch McConnell (incumbent) Republican Wesley Morgan

Is Amy McGrath a pilot?

Cincinnati, Ohio, U.S. Amy M. McGrath (born June 3, 1975) is an American politician and former Marine fighter pilot. McGrath was the first woman to fly a combat mission for the Marine Corps, as well as the first to pilot the F/A-18 on a combat mission.

Where was Amy Mcgrath born?

Kenton County, Kentucky, United States

Did Mitch McConnell serve in the military?

In March 1967, shortly before the expiration of his educational draft deferment upon graduation from law school, McConnell enlisted in the U.S. Army Reserve as a private at Louisville, Kentucky. This was a coveted position because the Reserve units were mostly kept out of combat during the Vietnam War.

Who is running against Lisa Murkowski?

Joe Miller, this time running as the Libertarian Party nominee, was again the runner-up in the general election. The election was unusual in featuring a Libertarian Party nominee who endorsed Donald Trump running against a Republican incumbent who did not.

How many votes does the house need to impeach?

The Constitution requires a two-thirds supermajority to convict a person being impeached.

Will Republicans retake the House in 2020?

Barring vacancies and party-switching, Republicans will enter the 2020 elections with control of 53 of the 100 seats in the Senate, while Democrats will enter the election with control of approximately 235 seats in the House of Representatives.

Who is running for Congress in 2020?

November 3, 2020 Leader Nancy Pelosi Kevin McCarthy Party Democratic Republican Leader since January 3, 2003 January 3, 2019 Leader’s seat California 12th California 23rd Last election 235 200

Do Republicans control both houses?

The 2014 elections gave the Republicans control of the Senate (and control of both houses of Congress) for the first time since the 109th Congress. With 248 seats in the House of Representatives and 54 seats in the Senate, this Congress began with the largest Republican majority since the 71st Congress of 1929–1931.

Is Nancy Pelosi up for re election?

In the 2018 midterm elections, the Democrats regained a majority of seats in the House. On November 28, House Democrats nominated Pelosi to once again serve as speaker of the House. She was formally re-elected to the speakership at the start of the 116th Congress on January 3, 2019.

Who has majority in Senate?

United States Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R) since January 3, 2015 Minority Leader Chuck Schumer (D) since January 3, 2017 Majority Whip John Thune (R) since January 3, 2019 Minority Whip Dick Durbin (D) since January 3, 2015

What happens if the Senate ties when holding a vote?

Tie Votes. “The Vice President of the United States shall be President of the Senate, but shall have no Vote, unless they be equally divided” (U.S. Constitution, Article I, section 3). Since 1789, 268 tie-breaking votes have been cast.

How many senators are Republican 2019?

The winners were elected to six-year terms running from January 3, 2019, to January 3, 2025. Senate Democrats had 26 seats up for election (including the seats of two independents who caucus with them) while Senate Republicans had nine seats up for election.

What is the current makeup of the House of Representatives?

United States House of Representatives Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D) since January 3, 2019 Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (D) since January 3, 2019 Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R) since January 3, 2019 Majority Whip Jim Clyburn (D) since January 3, 2019