What trophic level is a whale shark?

An upper-level carnivore — such as the Shortfin Mako (Isurus oxyrinchus) — is removed from the tiny, planktonic photosynthesizers at the base of the epipelagic food web by four or five trophic levels. In comparison, the Whale Shark feeds primarily one or two trophic levels above the phytoplankton.

At the top-most trophic level, apex predators such as the Great White reside. Although numerically scarce, apex predators are the ‘cap’ on the entire ecosystem. It is almost as though everything that goes on in the ocean takes place to feed the Great White Shark.

Likewise, what eats a whale shark? Whale sharks are known to prey on a range of planktonic and small nektonic organisms that are spatiotemporally patchy. These include krill, crab larvae, jellyfish, sardines, anchovies, mackerels, small tunas, and squid.

Also asked, what is the ecosystem of a whale shark?

Whale sharks tend to enjoy temperate to warm waters. Because of this, they are generally found in the waters along the Equator. The fish is primarily pelagic, meaning that they live in the open sea, but not in the greater depths of the ocean.

Is a whale shark a predator?

Whale Shark Facts

Kingdom: Five groups that classify all living things Animalia
Average Litter Size: The average number of babies born at once 12
Main Prey: The food that the animal gains energy from Krill, Plankton, Crab, Fish
Predators: Other animals that hunt and eat the animal Human, Sharks, Killer Whale

What is the 10% rule?

The 10% Rule means that when energy is passed in an ecosystem from one trophic level to the next, only ten percent of the energy will be passed on. A trophic level is the position of an organism in a food chain or energy pyramid.

How many trophic levels are there?

four trophic levels

What is the 3rd trophic level called?

Trophic levels can be represented by numbers, starting at level 1 with plants. Level 2: Herbivores eat plants and are called primary consumers. Level 3: Carnivores that eat herbivores are called secondary consumers. Level 4: Carnivores that eat other carnivores are called tertiary consumers.

What trophic level are humans?

Many humans are omnivores, meaning they consume both plant and animal material. Thus, they may be on the third or even fourth trophic level. For example, if you consume beef (cows are herbivores), you are a part of the third trophic level.

Why is energy transferred 10%?

The amount of energy at each trophic level decreases as it moves through an ecosystem. As little as 10 percent of the energy at any trophic level is transferred to the next level; the rest is lost largely through metabolic processes as heat.

What are the 6 trophic levels?

There are five key trophic levels in an ecosystem, from simple plants that get energy from sunlight to apex predators at the top of the food chain. Plants and Algae. Plants and algae comprise the lowest level of the trophic system. Primary Consumers. Secondary Consumers. Tertiary Consumers. Apex Predators.

How do you determine trophic levels?

Trophic level is defined as the position of an organism in the food chain and ranges from a value of 1 for primary producers to 5 for marine mammals and humans. The method to determine the trophic level of a consumer is to add one level to the mean trophic level of its prey.

What is in an ecosystem?

An ecosystem includes all of the living things (plants, animals and organisms) in a given area, interacting with each other, and also with their non-living environments (weather, earth, sun, soil, climate, atmosphere). Usually, biotic members of an ecosystem, together with their abiotic factors depend on each other.

Is a whale a fish?

The truth however is that whales are not fish, they are actually marine mammals. Instead many species of fish are born with a sack that is attached to them and provides them with the nutrients they need to survive until they can hunt for food on their own.

Who is the biggest shark?

whale shark

How big is a whale fish?

In terms of size an adult male whale fish can grow to lengths of up to 3.5 cm while female whale fish may grow up to 10 times the size of their male counterparts measuring in at up to 1.3 ft in length.

How do humans affect whale sharks?

Human Exploitation & Impact They face a negative impact from humans through irresponsible tourism practices, fishing, as well as injuries from boating and ocean recreation. In traditional Chinese medicine, whale shark parts including their fins are often used, which is one of their biggest threats.

Why are whale sharks important to humans?

WHALE SHARK IMPORTANCE TO HUMANS. In the past, the whale shark has been of little interest to man. Often the whale shark is used as an indicator of waters rich in plankton-feeding fish that will, in turn, attract more valuable species such as tuna.

How often do whale sharks have babies?

Offspring. Whale shark females produce eggs, but the young hatch inside of the mother instead of in the water like most fish. Then, the female gives birth to about 300 live young.